FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                         CONTACT: BRIAN MCCARTHY, NFL
                                                                                                                    (619) 228-7134  



TROY VINCENT, cornerback of the Philadelphia Eagles, is the 2002 WALTER PAYTON NFL MAN OF THE YEAR, the NFL announced today.

NFL Commissioner PAUL TAGLIABUE made the announcement this morning at his annual Super Bowl news conference.

The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, named after the legendary Chicago Bears’ running back, is the only NFL award that recognizes a player’s off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence.

Vincent established the “Troy Vincent Foundation” to provide education and services to troubled youths.  One of Vincent’s goals is to teach young adults the skills they will need to care for themselves and their families as well as a chance to improve their lives and ensure that they stay away from crime. 

Vincent will receive the distinctive Gladiator statue, an original art creation by the noted sculptor, DANIEL SCHWARTZ.  In addition, $25,000 will be given to Vincent from NFL Charities to donate to the charity of choice.  Jeweler CHRIS AIRE has donated a watch to this year’s Man of the Year winner to give to his favorite charity.

Vincent is also actively takes leadership roles in several organizations including the Christian Business Network, Philadelphia Business Leadership Series, Professional Business Financial Network, Boys & Girls Club of Trenton, Christian Athletes United for Spiritual Empowerment (CAUSE), and the Police Athletic League (PAL) of Trenton.  Vincent has also worked extensively with the Eagles Youth Partnership, American Cancer Society, Leukemia Foundation, Breast Cancer Foundation. 

Vincent currently is a member of the executive committee of the NFL Players’ Association and recently became the Philadelphia spokesperson for “All Pro Dad.”  He volunteered to speak at the 2002 Eagles Youth Partnership’s “Top Achiever” awards ceremony, which recognizes local high school football players for their academic excellence.  In 2000, the New Jersey State Senate and the Delaware Valley Chapter of the National Football Foundation/College Hall of Fame honored Vincent for "his extraordinary talents on the football field and for his generous gifts of time, energy, and resources to the community and its youth." 

Vincent addressed the University of Miami football team on September 13 prior to their game versus Temple University and spoke about the responsibilities of being a professional athlete.  Philadelphia Daily News readers also selected Vincent as the Philadelphia athlete who they would want to baby-sit their children. 

He was selected in 2000 and 2001 as one of The Sporting News’ “100 Good Guys in Sports" for his civic responsibility and character, and was the Dolphins winner of the 1994 Ed Block Courage Award, an honor given annually to one player on each NFL team for his courage, strength, and leadership.  He has also been honored by the New Jersey General Assembly with “Troy Vincent Day.”

Vincent joins an esteemed list of past winners, which include 13 members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.  Recent winners include 2001 winner JEROME BETTIS, co-winners, DERRICK BROOKS and JIM FLANIGAN (2000), CRIS CARTER , DAN MARINO, and TROY AIKMAN.  (A complete list of winners is attached.)

The accomplishments of the 32 finalists - one from each NFL team - are reviewed by a blue-ribbon panel, which includes Commissioner Tagliabue, Sports Illustrated football writer PETER KING, football greats FRANK GIFFORD, JACK KEMP, JOHN MACKEY, 2001 winner JEROME BETTIS, and CONNIE PAYTON, wife of the late Walter Payton.

#    #    #


2002               Troy Vincent, Cornerback                         Philadelphia Eagles
2001               Jerome Bettis, Running Back                   Pittsburgh Steelers
2000               Derrick Brooks, Linebacker                      Tampa Bay Buccaneers*
                      Jim Flanigan, Defensive Tackle                 Chicago Bears*
1999               Cris Carter, Wide Receiver                       Minnesota Vikings  
1998               Dan Marino, Quarterback                         Miami Dolphins
1997               Troy Aikman, Quarterback                       Dallas Cowboys                   
1996               Darrell Green, Cornerback                       Washington Redskins
1995               Boomer Esiason, Quarterback                 New York Jets       
1994               Junior Seau, Linebacker                          San Diego Chargers
1993               Derrick Thomas, Linebacker                    Kansas City Chiefs
1992               John Elway, Quarterback                        Denver Broncos      
1991               Anthony Munoz, Tackle                          Cincinnati Bengals
1990               Mike Singletary, Linebacker                    Chicago Bears       
1989               Warren Moon, Quarterback                     Houston Oilers
1988               Steve Largent, Wide Receiver                  Seattle Seahawks
1987               Dave Duerson, Safety                             Chicago Bears
1986               Reggie Williams, Linebacker                   Cincinnati Bengals
1985               Dwight Stephenson, Center                     Miami Dolphins
1984               Marty Lyons, Tackle                               New York Jets
1983               Rolf Benirschke, Kicker                          San Diego Chargers
1982               Joe Theismann, Quarterback                   Washington Redskins
1981               Lynn Swann, Wide Receiver                    Pittsburgh Steelers
1980               Harold Carmichael, Wide Receiver           Philadelphia Eagles
1979               Joe Greene, Defensive Lineman               Pittsburgh Steelers
1978               Roger Staubach, Quarterback                  Dallas Cowboys
1977               Walter Payton, Running Back                  Chicago Bears       
1976               Franco Harris, Running Back                   Pittsburgh Steelers
1975               Ken Anderson, Quarterback                    Cincinnati Bengals
1974               George Blanda, Quarterback                   Oakland Raiders
1973               Len Dawson, Quarterback                       Kansas City Chiefs
1972               Willie Lanier, Linebacker                         Kansas City Chiefs
1971               John Hadl, Quarterback                          San Diego Chargers
1970               Johnny Unitas, Quarterback                    Baltimore Colts

* Co-winner