



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE NFL-137 12/1/05

CONTACT: Dan Masonson, NFL, 212-450-2081 MasonsonD@NFL.com

Dave Mellin, Sprint, 303-801-3293 Dave.mellin@sprint.com

## WIRELESS PRO BOWL RECORD: MORE THAN 1 MILLION VOTES CAST VIA SPRINT WIRELESS

# VOTE TALLY 100 TIMES GREATER THAN LAST YEAR'S 10,000 VOTES

## COLTS HAVE THREE OF TOP FIVE IN SPRINT WIRELESS BALLOTING; MANNINGS RANK FIRST & SEVENTH

#### PRESENTED BY SPRINT, VOTING CONTINUES ON NFL.COM, IN STADIUMS & VIA SPRINT WIRELESS

New York, N.Y. – More than 1 million Pro Bowl votes have been cast via the Sprint wireless service, a 100-fold increase over the 10,000 wireless votes tallied last year, the NFL and Sprint announced today. Presented by Sprint, Pro Bowl voting will continue on NFL.com, in stadiums and via the Sprint wireless service through Tuesday, Dec. 13.

Indianapolis Colts quarterback **PEYTON MANNING** ranks first among Sprint wireless voters while Atlanta Falcons quarterback **MICHAEL VICK**, Indianapolis Colts wide receiver **MARVIN HARRISON**, Seattle Seahawks running back **SHAUN ALEXANDER** and Colts running back **EDGERRIN JAMES** round out the top five respectively.

The teams will be announced at 7 p.m. (ET) Wednesday, Dec. 21 on the 2006 Pro Bowl Selection Show on ESPN. The Pro Bowl will be played in Hawaii on Sunday, Feb. 12 and televised by ESPN.

Fans can cast their Pro Bowl ballot by text messaging "PRO" to 46635 from a phone using Sprint wireless service to vote for their favorite players at each position. Standard text messaging and data service charges apply.

Fans who vote for their Pro Bowl players then will be able to enter for a chance to win a trip to the Pro Bowl in the 2006 NFL Pro Bowl Sweepstakes presented by Sprint. The Grand Prize includes an all-expense-paid trip to the game in Honolulu as well as exclusive experiences such as the chance to meet and talk football with Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback **JOHN** 

**ELWAY**, attend practice, take a tour of Aloha Stadium, obtain pregame sideline passes and more.

The AFC and NFC All-Star squads are made up of the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third towards determining the 43-man rosters that represent the American Football Conference and National Football Conference in the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes on Dec. 19-20.

The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It was the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995.

Sprint revolutionized the way NFL fans get their information when it launched NFL Mobile in October giving fans exclusive access to NFL content and original programming. NFL Mobile programming includes an all-NFL-all-the-time television channel -- NFL Network; exclusive video- and audio-on-demand highlights from NFL Films; and up-to-the-minute team/player scores, stats and injury information.

Listed below are the top 10 overall All-Star vote-getters via the Sprint wireless service:

Pos.	Name, Team
QB	Peyton Manning, Colts
QB	Michael Vick, Falcons
WR	Marvin Harrison, Colts
RB	Shaun Alexander, Seahawks
RB	Edgerrin James, Colts
RB	LaDainian Tomlinson, Chargers
QB	Eli Manning, Giants
LB	Brian Urlacher, Bears
WR	Chad Johnson, Bengals
S	John Lynch, Broncos

#### **TOP 10 SPRINT WIRELESS VOTE-GETTERS**

# # #