

PRO FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME 2121 George Halas Drive NW, Canton, OH 44708 Phone: 330-456-8207; Fax: 330-456-8175 Profootballhof.com

NEWS RELEASE

For More Information, Contact Joe Horrigan (330) 456-8207

One Hundred Twelve on the Hall's Nomination List For the Class of 2006

CANTON, OH – Defensive end Reggie White, quarterbacks Troy Aikman and Warren Moon are first-year eligible candidates among a list of 112 former players, coaches, and contributors who make up the preliminary list of modern-era nominees for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2006.

From this preliminary list, Hall of Fame selectors will choose 25 candidates who will advance as semi-finalist nominees. The list of 25 modern-era semi-finalists will be announced later next month.

The 25 modern-era semi-finalists list will be reduced by a mail ballot to 13 candidates. That list will increase to 15 finalists with the addition of two previously announced Senior Committee nominees, John Madden, who coached the Oakland Raiders from 1969-1978, and Rayfield Wright, a tackle with the Dallas Cowboys, 1967-1979.

The Class of 2006 will be selected from the list of 15 finalists. The actual voting will be conducted at the Selection Committee's annual meeting, which will be held on Saturday, February 4, 2006, in Detroit, Michigan, the day before Super Bowl XL. The election results will be announced immediately after the meeting at a press conference in the media headquarters. While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the ground rules provide that between three and six new members will be selected.

Other first-year eligible candidates for the Class of 2006 include running back Thurman Thomas, center Dermontti Dawson, and wide receiver Andre Reed. Also on the impressive preliminary list are five former head coaches, and 11 contributors, including NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue and longtime owners Art Modell and Ralph Wilson.

To be considered for Hall of Fame election, a nominated player must have been retired at least five years. For a non-player, there is no mandatory retirement period, but a coach must be retired before he may be considered. A contributor, who is a nominee who has made outstanding contributions to pro football in capacities other than playing or coaching, may still be active in his pro football career.

PRELIMINARY LIST OF NOMINEES FOR THE CLASS OF 2006

Nominees in First Year of Eligibility

Quarterbacks – Troy Aikman, Warren Moon Running Back –Thurman Thomas Wide Receivers – Irving Fryar, Andre Reed Tight End – Ben Coates Offensive Linemen Center – Dermontti Dawson Tackle – Bruce Armstrong Defensive Linemen – Cortez Kennedy (DT), Clyde Simmons (DE), Neil Smith (DE), Reggie White (DT/DE) Linebackers – Cornelius Bennett, Jessie Tuggle

Additional Nominees for the Class of 2006

Quarterbacks: Ken Anderson, Jim Hart, Jim Plunkett, Phil Simms, Ken Stabler, Joe Theismann

- **Running Backs:** Ottis Anderson, Roger Craig, Chuck Foreman, George Rogers, Herschel Walker
- Wide Receivers: Cliff Branch, Harold Carmichael, Gary Clark, Mark Clayton,
 Isaac Curtis, Mark Duper, Henry Ellard, *Michael Irvin, *Art Monk,
 Drew Pearson, Sterling Sharpe

Tight Ends: Mark Bavaro, Todd Christensen, Russ Francis, Brent Jones

Offensive Linemen:

- Centers: Ray Donaldson, Jay Hilgenberg, Kent Hull, Rich Saul, Jeff Van Note
- Guards: *Russ Grimm, Chris Hinton (also T), *Bob Kuenchenberg, Nate Newton

Tackles: Jim Covert, Joe Jacoby, Mike Kenn, Henry Lawrence (also G),

Gary Zimmerman

Defensive Linemen: Curley Culp (DT), Fred Dean (DE), *Richard Dent (DE), Chris Doleman (DE/LB), *L.C. Greenwood (DE), Charles Haley (DE/LB), *Claude Humphrey (DE), Ed "Too Tall" Jones (DE), Joe Klecko (DE-DT-NT), Dexter Manley (DE), Charles Mann (DE), Fred Smerlas (NT) Linebackers: Matt Blair, Robert Brazile, *Harry Carson, Randy Gradishar, Kevin Greene (also DE), Ken Harvey, Rickey Jackson, Clay Matthews, Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, John Offerdahl, Darryl Talley, *Derrick Thomas, Andre Tippett, Brad Van Pelt

Defensive Backs: Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), Kenny Easley (S), Lester Hayes (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), Fred Marion (S), Lemar Parrish (CB), Ken Riley (CB), Donnie Shell (S), Everson Walls (CB), *Roger Wehrli (CB)

Special Teams/Wide Receiver: Steve Tasker

Punters/Kicker: Ray Guy (P), Nick Lowery (K), Reggie Roby (P)

Coaches: Don Coryell, Tom Flores, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Dan Reeves

Contributors: Gil Brandt, Ed DeBartolo, Jr., Pat Haggerty, Art McNally, Art Modell, Ed Sabol, Steve Sabol, Paul Tagliabue, Ralph Wilson, Jr., Ron Wolf, *George Young

* On last year's 15 Finalists List