2005 CLASS OF ED BLOCK COURAGE AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

Recipients Will Be Honored in Baltimore, Maryland on March 7th

January 4, 2006 – **BALTIMORE**, Md. – The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation today announced the names of the recipients from each National Football League (NFL) team who will receive an Ed Block Courage Award at the **28**th **Annual Ed Block Courage Awards** on Tuesday, March 7th at Martin's West in Baltimore, Maryland.

The recipients were selected by their teammates for displaying commitments to the principles of courage and sportsmanship, while serving as inspirations in their locker rooms. The accolade has become one of the most esteemed honors bestowed upon a player in the NFL, especially since the recipient is selected by his peers. Recipients are often players who have overcome devastating injuries or tragedies in their personal lives to return to the top level of competition that is the NFL.

In an unprecedented move, the Foundation will recognize the courage of an entire team. The efforts of the New Orleans Saints coaches, players and staff have earned the entire organization selection as the Saints' recipient of the 2005 Ed Block Courage Award. While the honor is traditionally bestowed upon a single player for displaying courage in the face of adversity, the Foundation, in conjunction with the Saints' athletic training staff and players, decided that every employee of the Saints fit that description in the wake of all they endured due to Hurricane Katrina.

Additionally, ESPN Anchor and NFL Sideline Reporter, Suzy Kolber, will serve as the event's *Ambassador of Courage* and play a major role in presenting a number of awards that evening. The Courage Awards will also honor the 2005 NFL Athletic Training Staff of the Year from the New Orleans Saints and the Pro Football Weekly Assistant Coach of the Year.

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. The Foundation's efforts are endorsed by the NFL and the Professional Football Athletic Trainers Society (PFATS). The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts' defensive end, Joe Ehrmann. Following the Colts departure from Baltimore in 1984, the scope of the Award expanded to include one player from every team in the NFL.

For more than 27 years, the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation has celebrated the courageous efforts of players in the NFL while raising the nation's awareness of the plight of abused children in NFL communities. Through the Foundation's *Courage House National Support Network for Kids*, the organization has helped Courage Houses improve the lives of abused children across America. Named after the NFL team in a respective city, a Courage House is a facility that provides support/quality care for abused children in that community. Currently, more than 50-percent of the teams in the NFL support a Courage House. That group includes: Oakland, Pittsburgh, Chicago, Detroit, Miami, Dallas, Baltimore, New York (Giants), Seattle, Carolina, Cleveland, Atlanta, St. Louis, Indianapolis, Buffalo, San Francisco and Minnesota.

Sponsorship opportunities for the event range from \$2,500 to \$25,000. A table (10 seats) may be purchased for \$1,250 and individual tickets are \$150 each. To become a sponsor or purchase tables/tickets, call 410.821.6252.

The complete list of the 2005 Class of Ed Block Courage Award recipients is as follows:

AMERICAN FOOTBALL CONFERENCE

- Baltimore Ravens **Dale Carter**, cornerback
- Buffalo Bills Mark Campbell, tight end
- Cincinnati Bengals **Rashad Bauman**, cornerback
- Cleveland Browns **Kenard Lang**, linebacker
- Denver Broncos **Dwayne Carswell**, offensive tackle
- HOUSTON TEXANS JABAR GAFFNEY, WIDE RECEIVER
- Indianapolis Colts Cato June, linebacker
- Jacksonville Jaguars Paul Spicer, defensive end
- Kansas City Chiefs Will Shields, guard
- Miami Dolphins **Yeremiah Bell**, defensive back
- New England Patriots **Tedy Bruschi**, linebacker
- New York Jets Wayne Chrebet, wide receiver
- Oakland Raiders **Jarrod Cooper**, safety
- Pittsburgh Steelers Casey Hampton, defensive tackle
- San Diego Chargers Randall Godfrey, linebacker
- Tennessee Titans Tank Williams, safety

NATIONAL FOOTBALL CONFERENCE

- Arizona Cardinals **Marcel Shipp**, running back
- Atlanta Falcons **Justin Griffith**, fullback
- Carolina Panthers **Steve Smith**, wide receiver
- Chicago Bears **Ruben Brown**, guard
- Dallas Cowboys **Dan Campbell**, tight end
- Detroit Lions **Boss Bailey**, linebacker
- Green Bay Packers **Donald Driver**, wide receiver

- Minnesota Vikings Koren Robinson, wide receiver
- New Orleans Saints ENTIRE TEAM (team captain Wayne Gandy will accept on club's behalf)
- New York Giants Michael Strahan, defensive end
- Philadelphia Eagles Chad Lewis, tight end
- Seattle Seahawks Bobby Engram, wide receiver
- St. Louis Rams Leonard Little, defensive end
- San Francisco 49ers **Jeremy Newberry**, center
- Tampa Bay Buccaneers John Wade, center
- Washington Redskins Khary Campbell, linebacker

For more information or to coordinate interview opportunities with the recipients during the event, please contact Tim Richardson at 410.821.6252 ext. 11or at via e-mail at tim@edblock.org.

ED BLOCK COURAGE AWARD

Timothy M. Richardson
Director of Communications
The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation, Inc.
809 Gleneagles Court, Suite 105
Towson, MD 21286
Tel: 410.821.6252 ext. 11
Fax: 410.821.6240

www.edblock.org

Celebrate the 28th Annual Ed Block Courage Awards March 7, 2006 - Baltimore Maryland