MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Dave Copenhaver-410.821.6252 (dave@edblock.org)

2006 CLASS OF ED BLOCK COURAGE AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

January 3, 2007 – **BALTIMORE**, Md. – The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation today announced the names of the recipients from each National Football League (NFL) team who will receive an Ed Block Courage Award at the *29th Annual Ed Block Courage Awards* on Tuesday, March 20th at Martin's West.

The recipients were selected by their teammates for displaying commitments to the principles of courage and sportsmanship, while serving as inspirations in their locker rooms. The accolade has become one of the most esteemed honors bestowed upon a player in the NFL, especially since the recipient is selected by his peers. Recipients are often players who have overcome devastating injuries or tragedies in their personal lives to return to the top level of competition that is the NFL.

The Baltimore Ravens' 2006 Ed Block Courage Award selection is Cornerback Corey Ivy. A 6-year NFL veteran, Ivy signed a 3 year contract with the Ravens in March '06. On the return flight from the Denver game the team charter made an emergency landing in Pittsburgh to get Corey medical treatment for a lacerated kidney he suffered during the game. He was able to return to the field of play in week 9, and was one of the Ravens most inspirational performers throughout the rest of the season.

Baltimore Ravens Tight End Todd Heap will be participating as this year's Courage Captain and play a major role in presentation awards that evening. The Courage Awards will also honor the 2006 NFL Athletic Training Staff of the Year from the Miami Dolphins and the Pro Football Weekly Assistant Coach of the Year (yet to be announced).

The Courage Award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. The Foundation's efforts are endorsed by the NFL and the Professional Football Athletic Trainers Society (PFATS). The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts' defensive end, Joe Ehrmann. Following the Colts departure from Baltimore in 1984, the scope of the Award expanded to include one player from every team in the NFL.

For more than 28 years, the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation has celebrated the courageous efforts of players in the NFL while raising the nation's awareness of the plight of abused children in NFL communities. Through the Foundation's *Courage House National Support Network for Kids*, the organization has helped Courage Houses improve the lives of abused children across America. Named after the NFL team in a respective city, a Courage House is a facility that provides support/quality care for abused children in that community. Currently, more than 50-percent of the teams in the NFL support a Courage House. That group includes: **Pittsburgh, Chicago, Detroit, Miami, Dallas, Baltimore, Oakland, New York (Giants), Seattle, Carolina, Cleveland, Atlanta, St. Louis, Indianapolis, Buffalo, San Francisco and Minnesota**. A new Courage House will be dedicated at this year's event. The **Green Bay Packers Courage House** has been selected for inclusion in the *Courage House National Support Network for Kids*.

Sponsorship opportunities for the event range from \$2,500 to \$25,000. A table (10 seats) may be purchased for \$1,250 and individual tickets are \$150 each. To become a sponsor or purchase tables/tickets, call 410.821.6252.

MEDIA RELEASE

The complete list of the 2006 Class of Ed Block Courage Award recipients is as follows:

AMERICAN FOOTBALL CONFERENCE

- Baltimore Ravens Corey Ivy, cornerback
- Buffalo Bills **Takeo Spikes**, linebacker
- Cincinnati Bengals Carson Palmer, quarterback
- Cleveland Browns Phil Dawson, kicker
- Denver Broncos Louis Green, linebacker
- Houston Texans Kailee Wong, linebacker
- Indianapolis Colts Reggie Wayne, wide receiver
- Jacksonville Jaguars Jorge Cordova, linebacker
- Kansas City Chiefs Benny Sapp, defensive back
- Miami Dolphins Zach Thomas, linebacker
- New England Patriots Rodney Harrison, safety
- New York Jets Chris Baker, tight end
- Oakland Raiders Ronald Curry, wide receiver
- Pittsburgh Steelers Travis Kirschke, defensive tackle
- San Diego Chargers Carlos Polk, linebacker
- Tennessee Titans Brandon Jones, wide receiver

NATIONAL FOOTBALL CONFERENCE

- Arizona Cardinals Kurt Warner, quarterback
- Atlanta Falcons Kevin Mathis, defensive back
- Carolina Panthers Colin Branch, strong safety
- Chicago Bears **Rex Grossman**, quarterback
- Dallas Cowboys Flozell Adams, offensive tackle
- Detroit Lions Rickey Sandoval, Director of Security
- Green Bay Packers Jon Ryan, punter
- Minnesota Vikings Matt Birk, center
- New Orleans Saints Deuce McAllister, running back
- New York Giants Carlos Emmons, linebacker
- Philadelphia Eagles Jerome McDougle, defensive end
- Seattle Seahawks Ken Hamlin, safety
- St. Louis Rams Pisa Tinoisamoa, linebacker
- San Francisco 49ers Frank Gore, running back
- Tampa Bay Buccaneers Shelton Quarles, linebacker
- Washington Redskins Randy Thomas, offensive guard

For more information or to coordinate interview opportunities with the recipients during the event, please contact Chuck Harmon at 410.821.6252 ext. 11or at via e-mail at chuck@edblock.org.

ED BLOCK COURAGE AWARD