Madden Named Rozelle Award Winner

John Madden, the legendary NFL broadcaster, has been named the 2002 winner of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Pete Rozelle Radio and Television Award. The award given annually by the Hall of Fame recognizes “long-time exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football.” Madden will be presented his award on August 2, in Canton, Ohio at the Mayor’s Breakfast, the first formal event of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Enshrinement Weekend celebration.

Madden, who is known for his insightful and often humorous commentary, spent 21 years as a game analyst with CBS and Fox before recently signing with ABC’s “Monday Night Football.”

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences has honored Madden with an unprecedented 13 Outstanding Sports Personality/Analyst Emmy Awards, the most recent in recognition for his work during the 1999 NFL season. In all, he has been nominated for a record 15 Emmy Awards. In addition, the American Sportscasters Association named him Sports Personality of the Year in 1985 and 1992, and in 1982 he became the first NFL analyst to receive the Touchdown Club of America’s prestigious Golden Mike Award.

Prior to joining the broadcasting ranks, Madden was head coach of the Oakland Raiders. He guided the Raiders to an overall record of 103-32-7, leading the team to seven AFL/AFC Western Division titles and a victory over the Minnesota Vikings in Super Bowl XI. He became the head coach in 1969 at the age of 33, the youngest head coach in the American Football League. John retired from coaching in 1979 and started his football-broadcasting career at CBS in 1980.

The versatile Madden is also the author of several books. His latest effort is a cookbook titled “John Madden’s Ultimate Tailgating” released in 1998. His first four books – “Hey Wait a Minute, I Wrote A Book”, “One Knee Equals Two Feet (And Everything Else You Wanted to Know About Football)”, “One Size Doesn’t Fit All”, and “All Madden”, each written with New York Times sports columnist Dave Anderson, all reached the New York Times Best Seller List. 

Previous Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award Winners
1989 - Bill McPhail 1996 - Jack Buck
1990 - Lindsey Nelson 1997 - Charlie Jones
1991 - Ed Sabol 1998 - Val Pinchbeck
1992 - Chris Schenkel 1999 - Dick Enberg
1993 - Curt Gowdy 2000 - Ray Scott
1994 - Pat Summerall 2001 - Roone Arledge
1995 - Frank Gifford